19th Annual Best Basketball Invitational Tournament

Kansas City Keys will host its Nineteenth (19th) Annual Best Basketball Invitational Tournament February of 2012. The tournament for girls’ grades 3rd through 8th will be February 3rd-5th, 2012 at UMKC; as well as boys grades 2nd through 8th. The Boys Nationals for grades K through 4th will be held the weekend of February 10th-12th, 2012. The Boys National for grades 5th through 8th will be during February 17th-19th, 2012. Registration through January 31st (late registration will be +$50 after this date)

Games will be hosted at various sites throughout the Kansas City area including: Boys and Girls Club, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Avila College, Penn Valley and Della Lamb. This year's tournament will have over 300 games played with over 140 teams participating from Arkansas, Kansas, Illinois, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas. Over 5,000 players, coaches, students and fans are expected to participate. Some of the prominent participating teams include the: Arkansas Hawks, DFW Elite, Texas Suns Select, Dallas Mustangs, KC Supersonics, Arkansas Triple Threat, MV Blazers, Della Lamb Angels, St. Louis Gateway, St. Louis Majestics, Missouri Valley Eclipse, KC Thundercats, Les Chats, Missouri Select, KC 76ers, Runnin Rebels, St. Louis Cougars, Mo Valley Blazers, Omaha Sports Academy, St. Louis Gateway, Springfield Stars, Springfield Predators, Omaha Kings, Nebraska Elkhorn Elite, Oklahoma Lady Magic, KC Runnin Angels, Missouri Magic.

Our own Kansas City Keys boys and girls teams will be participating along with other local teams including; teams from Northland, Shawnee Mission, Overland Park, Lee’s Summit and Raytown.
The impact on tourism for Kansas City has been estimated by the Kansas City Convention Bureau at $2,000,000. Crown Center is serving as our host hotel site serving over 800 rooms.

Tournament awards include: T-shirts, medals and team trophies awarded to the first place and second place finishers in each division. Teams will also be recognized in the KeyNote Newsletter and on our website. Click here for a retrospective of last year's tournament.

Each Saturday of the Tournament, February 4th, 11th, and 16th, an educational session focusing on Leadership, Responsibility and Accountability will be provided. The session will provide awareness on careers and the pre-requisites to securing those careers, including education through college or vocational. Michael Watson, member of the Kansas City Keys, Central High, and UMKC's all time leading scorer will be the Keynote Speaker. There will be scouts to evaluate some of the participants in the tournament. Athletes will earn over $5,000 in awards, including t-shirts, medals, and team trophies.

Past participants include: Greg Oden (Ohio State, Portland Trailblazers), Michael Conley, Jr. (Ohio State, Memphis Grizzlies), Jaron Rush, Kareem Rush (Missouri, Indiana Pacers), Brandon Rush (Kansas University, Golden State Warriors), Bradley Beal (Florida), Corey Hilliard (Nebraska), Le’Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State), Marquis Teague (Kentucky), Ben McLemore (KU), Jamal Branch (Texas A & M), Marcus Walker (Colorado State, Europe), Dominique Johnson (UNT), Isaac Miles (Murray State), Quinton Day (UMKC – Hungary Int’l League), Daquan Cook (Ohio State, Oklahoma Thunder)), Tim Blackwell and Mike Watson (UMKC), Darrel Arthur (Kansas University, Memphis Grizzlies), Clint Stewart at Kansas State, Nick Wise at the University of Arizona, Sheldon Williams (Duke, Sacramento), DJ Hord at Northern Iowa, Bryce Morris of Southern Illinois University, Jermaine Beals at Vanderbilt, Allen Smith at Boston College, Latoya Johnson (Louisville), Danielle Adams (San Antonio Stars), Tanisha Smith and Tyra White (Texas A & M), and Marisah Henderson (Wichita State), Kanisha Agee (Drake University), George Goode (Louisville), Jarryd Cole at University of Iowa, Tiera Ford (NWMSU), Jackie Griggs (MO State), Nate Johnson (Florida State), Thomas Vincent (Emporia State), Jamar Howard (Wichita State), Sherrod Williams, Jeff Graves (KU), Rahmon Fletcher at Milwaukee-Wisconsin, Travis Releford (KU), Terrance Hill (Coffeyville), Marcus Denmon (Hogan Prep, MU), Michael Craion (Oral Roberts), Reggie Chamberlain (Raytown High, UMKC), Dominique Morrison & Roderick Pierson (Oral Roberts), Dominique Newton (UCMO), Beaumont Beasley (Alabama State), Michael Dixon (MU), Daylen Robinson (Northeast, Moberly, Texas Tech), DJ Jackson (Oral Roberts), Will Spradling (Kansas State), Trevor Releford (Alabama), Marisah Ellis (Staley HS, Kansas State Signee), Jameisha Price (Blue Springs, STL Univ), Bree Fowler (MU), Brynn Williamson (Iowa State), Natalie Knight (KU), Dashawn Harden (OU), Tanchelle Hollingsworth (JC Community College), Ishmal Wainwright (Montrose Christian High School), Perry Ellis (Wichita Heights, KU signee) and hundreds of talented others.

If you would like to participate with this exciting event, contact: Harrel Johnson at 816-483-7997.
Kansas City Keys, P.O. Box 270257, Kansas City, Mo 64127